Hellenism is the polytheistic orthopraxic religion of the classical Graeco-Roman world. Hellenism proper begun during the Hellenistic period, an era which begun following the death of Alexander the Great in 323 BCE, and lasted until the defeat of the Ptolemaic Kingdom in  31 BCE, which saw the spreading of Greek culture throughout the Mediterranean and Near East. The term Hellenism was first coined by the blessed Emperor Flavius Claudius Iulianus Augustus to refer to the general Graeco-Roman religion derived from the Greeks, and the term Hellene denotes a follower of Hellenism. Broadly speaking, it is a polytheistic religion that believes the Gods are unchanging, unbegotten, eternal, incorporeal, and not in space.

It is the religion of the Graeco-Roman world, and as the name implies it is thus in part centered around the ethos (meaning culture; including literature, history, philosophy, science and so on) of the Greeks. However, the religion is a universalist one. In its nature, the true faith reflects the very reality of the Cosmos itself and is, therefore, universal and for all people. Furthermore, as stated prior, Hellenism proper began after the death of Alexander the Great and the spreading of Greek culture throughout the Mediterranean. Hellenistic and Hellenized culture interacted and mingled with local cultures throughout the region and created new, diverse traditions. The religion can and will manifest in different forms in different areas and adopt itself effortlessly to the religious customs of the area where it becomes absorbed— so long as they do not conflict with Hellenism— though with a consistent Hellenic tone at the foundation. A prime example is seen with the holy city of Rome, which though having had a distinctiveness both linguistically and in many regards religiously, had established and maintained sacred rites and pious belief in the Gods which were nonetheless culturally descendent of and/or shaped by the influence of Greek civilization; a descendency acknowledged by the divine Emperor Julian. Because of this great diversity, there is no one “Hellenistic” faith, and that’s okay. Instead, there is a grouping of shared cultural faiths. Something familiar among all forms of Hellenism, however, is the importance of ritual practice, as ritual animates belief.

It is primarily a devotional or votive religion, based on the exchange of gifts between the divine and mortals typically through offerings/sacrifice and correct practice. The ethical convictions of Hellenes are inspired by ancient Graeco-Roman virtues such as reciprocity, hospitality, and moderation.

Hellenes worship a large number of deities, which includes the:

  • The Ouranic/Dii Superi, or Olympian deities
  • The Khthonic/Dii Inferi, or Underworld deities
  • The Protogenoi, or Primordial deities
  • The Titans
  • Nature spirits (Nymphs, Nereids, Dryads, etc.)
  • Heroes
  • Ancestors and ancestral divinities (Lares, Penates, etc.)

Individual practice varies widely. Some Hellenes may not focus their worship each day upon every member of the pantheon, while others will give direct urgent prayer requests to all of them. Some may feel closer or more distant to some Gods, or may adhere to Mysteries that focus on a particular deity and their retinue. However, Hellenes show respect to all the deities by being polite and gracious to all of the divinities equally, for they are like kind masters, teachers, fathers or guardians who put us on the right path.


Hellenic Revivalism

Historically, Hellenism went on to continue on for many centuries, even after Christians took control of the Roman Empire and begun bloody persecution against Hellenism, all the way into the Dark Ages. The Greek region of Laconia in particular resisted conversion for an extended period of time and the last public Hellenes were the Maniots in 875 ACE, though they continued to practice their religion until the 10th century, which was noted by Constantine VII’s in his work De Administrando Imperio. Although publicly Hellenism was seemingly defeated, it continued on for several more centuries among intellectuals. Michael Psellos (c. 1017/1018 – 1078/1096 ACE) was accused of, and likely implicit in, being secretly a Hellene, and the renown Hellenic philosopher Gemistos Plethon (c. 1355 – 1452/1454 ACE) wrote a piece, the Nómoi, which called for the reorganization of the Byzantine Empire and the return to Hellenism. Plethon founded a Platonic school in the Peloponnesian city of Mystras which is said to have had students often praying to statues of Hellenic deities. Further there was Michael Tarchaniota Marullus (c. 1458 – 1500 ACE), a Hellene who was either from Sparta or Constantinople, who privately translated many ancient Hellenic works such as the Orphic Hymns, and wrote the Hymni naturales, hymns dedicated to the Gods.

In modern day, however, Hellenism sees a strong revival. Hellenic Revivalism, Contemporary Hellenism, Hellenic Polytheism, or simply Hellenism refers to various religious movements that revive ancient Graeco-Roman religious practices publically, which begun emergence during the 1990s. It makes use of reconstructionist methodology through academia to reconstruct classical Hellenism to form a living tradition and uphold proper practice appropriate to the modern day.



Flavius Claudius Iulianus Augustus, and Wilmer Cave. Wright. The works of emperor Julian. London: Heinemann etc., 1962.

“HELLENISMOS FAQ.” http://Www.HellenicGods.org. 2010. Accessed January 18, 2018. http://www.hellenicgods.org/.

Kaldellēs, Antōnios Emm. Hellenism in Byzantium: the transformations of Greek identity and the reception of the classical tradition. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ. Press, 2011.

Siniossoglou, Niketas. Radical Platonism in Byzantium. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2016.